Sunday, July 22, 2018
Education Primary

Primary Information

Catholic Primary Schools

There are 70 Catholic Primary Schools in the Archdiocese. These are spread across 8 Local Authorities as follows:

  • City of Edinburgh 15
  • East Lothian 4
  • Midlothian 7
  • West Lothian 16
  • Borders 4
  • Fife 12
  • Falkirk 7
  • Stirling 3
  • East Dumbartonshire 1
  • North Lanarkshire 1


Each of these schools promotes the mission and vision of Catholic Education and strives to create a dynamic welcoming community where each child is treasured and challenged to develop holistically. The school staff work together with home and parish to foster the faith development of the pupils.

The Archdiocesan Advisor for Primary Schools is Brid O’Brien who is available to support the work of Religious Education at Primary School level. Brid offers teachers support through CPD and runs various events throughout the year to support the teaching staff.